Michael

Combining the passions for sound and for business creation.

At the age of forty-four, Michael created the company Art Digital et Numérique (ADN) with his friend Tarik. ADN specialises in designing Hi-Fi audio equipment. Creating his own company had been a leitmotiv for Michael for several years and it had to be in the field of audio!

Michael started his career in London in 1995 working for Motorola, staying five years at their EMEA HQ. In 1999 he got married and was working as the right-hand-man to the Corporate Finance Manager when he was given the opportunity to develop the new Motorola Research Centre (Centre de Recherche Motorola-CRM) at Paris Saclay, as Manager of Finance and Development. Michael particularly enjoyed working in a research environment. For four years CRM was heavily involved in the European projects FP5 and FP6, and grew from 30 to 100 employees.

Between 2000 and 2008 Michael became a father to 3 children, he also became Sector Management Controller then Internal Audit Manager for Europe and the Middle East with Motorola. But all this was still a far cry from creating his own company. Michael was looking for small business experience, which is why he declined Motorola's offer to join their US Revenue Recognition team, choosing instead to join a small team of 10 people as the Financial Manager for Editions Fabbri, a subsidiary of the Italian group RCS. It was here he met his future business partner Tarik, (guitarist and electronic acoustics expert in his spare time), who was working as coordinator for the Information Systems Department for the Flammarion group.

Their impassioned discussions at the coffee machine reminded Michael of the evenings he used to organise with friends when he was younger. With a friend, he had once created a sound system with a homemade rack and speakers, Technics Mk2 turntables, a mixing table, a vinyl collection, lighting, his friend on the turntables and Michael in charge of technical controls. Together Tarik and Michael would discuss the research centre, internet tablets, tube amps and the future of electronic audio...They both shared the same outlook when it came to sound and, gradually, their conversations developed into plans to create a company.

In 2012, Michael left the RCS group to create the French subsidiary of Spanish editions RBA, taking on the role of Director of Finances and Administration. From its second year the company was making a turnover of 28 million euros. Throughout this period the business plan for ADN was developing and the number of prototypes multiplied. Their project was met with enthusiasm whenever they presented it, which was a tremendous motivation for the two young entrepreneurs. It was slowly becoming a reality...

In January 2015 Tarik and Michael decided to go for it, and nine months later, in October, ADN was created in time to launch its first product for the fourth quarter of 2016.

Michael

La double passion du son et de la création d’entreprise...

Michael, à 44ans, avec son ami Tarik, crée Art Digital et Numérique (ADN) spécialisée dans la conception d’appareil Audio HiFi. La création d’entreprise était devenue son leitmotiv depuis quelques années déjà. Cela devait être dans l’audio !

 

Sa carrière professionnelle commence en 1995, à Londres où il travaille pour la multinationale Américaine MOTOROLA. Il restera 5 ans au Head Quarter EMEA. En 1999, il se marie et est le bras droit du Corporate Finance Manager quand on lui propose de développer le nouveau Centre de Recherche de Motorola (CRM) à Paris Saclay en tant que Responsable Finance et Développement. Michael apprécie tout particulièrement le monde de la recherche. Pendant 4 ans, le CRM sera alors fortement impliqué dans les projets Européens FP5 et FP6 et passera de 30 à 100 employés.

 

Entre 2000 et 2008, il a 3 enfants et devient Contrôleur de Gestion Secteur puis Responsable Audit Interne Europe Middle-East Afrique toujours pour Motorola. Mais tout ceci est loin de la création d’entreprise. Il recherche donc une expérience PME. Il décline l’offre de Motorola pour rejoindre l'équipe US de Revenue Recognition et choisit d'intégrer une petite équipe de 10 personnes comme responsable Financier des Éditions Fabbri, filiale du groupe italien RCS. Il y rencontre son futur associé, Tarik, alors coordinateur DSI pour le groupe Flammarion, guitariste expert en électronique acoustique dans ses temps libres.

 

Leurs discussions passionnées à la machine à café rappellent à Michael sa jeunesse ou il a aniér les soirées des copains. Avec un ami, il avait créé une sono avec un rack et des enceintes faites maison, des platines Technics Mk2, une table de mixage, une collection de vinyles, des jeux de lumières, son ami aux platines et lui à la technique. Avec Tarik, ils parlent du Centre de Recherche, de tablette internet, d'amplis à tubes et du futur de l'electronique audio… Ils partagent la même vision du son et leurs conversations deviennent progressivement un projet d’entreprise.

 

En 2012, Michael quitte le groupe RCS et crée en tant que Directeur Administratif Financier, la filiale française du groupe d'édition espagnol RBA. Dès la 2e année, fera 28 Millions € de chiffre d’affaire. Pendant ce temps, le business Plan de ADN se développe, et les prototypes se multiplient. Les présentations du projet rencontrent un vif intérêt, c’est une vraie motivation pour les deux jeunes entrepreneurs. Le projet se concrétise...

 

Janvier 2015, Tarik et Michael décident de se lancer et 9  mois plus tard, en Octobre, ADN est créée pour lancer un premier produit au 4ème semestre 2016.