Tarik

At forty-something, father of two, Tarik decided to set up a business creating Hi-Fi products with his friend Michael. "Hi-Fi" (High Fidelity) is a perfect description of Tarik's passion for restoring music electronically: when he was just 10 years old he took his father's audio cassette player apart to understand "how it worked". He couldn't put it back together again afterwards...but by the following year he could repair anything that could be repaired! His father's old 4 track recorder, his uncle's amplifier, his mother's television...the flea market in Montreuil was an absolute goldmine for him!

With so many accomplishments, his thirst for knowledge led Tarik to carry out his own research. Reading the magazine "L'Electronique pratique" (Practical Electronics) opened the realm of electronic creation to him: making a "KITT-like" LED chaser (as in the series Knight Rider), a small self-directing robot, a CPL interphone, an (almost) Hi-Fi amplifier...at just twelve years old he was already teaching his classmates computing!

Tarik's natural curiosity led him to develop other interests and soon any spare time he had was being spent on computers, photography (developing his own black and white prints) or music. He was convinced that one day these art forms would be managed by computers and electronics.

In 1989, at the age of 16, this theory led him to build his first computer with the money he had earned at a summer job. He fitted the computer with a sound card linked to his Akai amplifier, which in turn was linked to a Thorens turntable and he made his first musical recording by computer "Carmina Burana – Fortuna Imperatrix Mundi ». This proved what he had always known: computing and electronics are at the heart of multimedia!

It was therefore a natural choice for Tarik to take a Baccalauréat in electronics - he even set up a cinema in the amphitheatre of his school, (with a three-tube video projector and surround sound) and he went on to create and run the school's cinema club. At the same time he learnt to play the guitar (mainly teaching himself) and he created a band, performing in pubs. Tarik continued to make Hi-Fi amplifiers and home cinema PCs for himself, his family and friends.

With a 'BTS' qualification in sales, he then spent three years working for Spak-Systems and Magarama, designing and selling made to measure computers for audio and video acquisition and simulation gaming. He went on to work in professional computing and managing IT networks before joining the Flammarion group. It was there, as CIO coordinator that he met Michael in 2008. Their lengthy discussions at the coffee machine soon led to friendship. United by their shared view of sound, their ideas developed into projects before becoming actual prototypes. In October 2015, free of other professional obligations, they finally created their own startup: Art Digital et Numérique.

Tarik

Musique, Electronique et Informatique.

 

 

À un peu plus que 40 ans et père de deux enfants, Tarik décide de se lancer comme créateur de produits Hi-Fi avec son ami Michael. Le terme « Hi-Fi » (High Fidelity) illustre parfaitement la passion de Tarik dans la restitution de la musique par l’électronique : âgé de 10 ans, il démonte le lecteur de cassette audio de son père pour comprendre « comment ça marche », sans pouvoir toutes fois le remonter… Mais l’année suivante, il répare déjà tout ce qui pouvait l’être ! Le vieux 4 pistes de papa, l’ampli de tonton, la télévision de maman… Le marché aux puces de Montreuil est une mine d’or pour lui.

Devant toutes ces réussites, sa soif de connaissance le pousse à se documenter. La lecture du magazine L’Électronique pratique va l’ouvrir au monde de la création électronique : chenillard à la « K2000 », petit robot qui se dirige seul, interphone CPL, amplificateur « presque » Hi-Fi… À 12 ans il donne déjà des cours d’informatique à ses camarades de classe !

La curiosité de Tarik développe chez lui d’autres passions et son temps libre est très vite partagé entre les ordinateurs, la photographie (il développe lui-même ses photos noir et blanc) et la musique. Il se convainc progressivement que ces arts seront gérées un jour par l’informatique et l’électronique.

Poussé par cette idée, il construit en 1989, âgé de 16 ans, son premier ordinateur avec l’argent d’un job d’été. Il l’équipe d’une carte son reliée à son ampli Akai, lui-même relié à une platine vinyle Thorens, et enregistre son premier morceau de musique sur ordinateur : « Carmina Burana – Fortuna Imperatrix Mundi ». Sa conviction se concrétise : l’informatique et l’électronique sont bien au cœur du multimédia !

C’est donc tout naturellement qu’il choisit de passer un Bac électronique, il installera d’ailleurs un cinéma dans l’amphithéâtre de son école (avec vidéo-projecteur tri-tube et son multicanal) puis créera et animera le cinéclub du lycée. En parallèle, il apprend la guitare, principalement en autodidacte, et forme un groupe qui se produit dans les pubs. Tarik continue de fabriquer des amplificateurs Hi-Fi et des PC home cinema pour lui, sa famille et ses amis.

Avec un BTS force de vente en poche, il travaille pendant 3 ans pour Spak-Systems et Megarama. Il y conçoit et vend des ordinateurs sur-mesure pour l’acquisition audio, vidéo et le gaming de simulation. Il s’orientera ensuite vers l’informatique professionnelle et la gestion de réseau informatique puis rejoindra le groupe Flammarion. Là-bas, c’est en tant que coordinateur DSI qu’il rencontre Michael en 2008. Ils discutent longuement autour de la machine à café et deviennent amis. Animés par la vision commune qu’ils ont du son, leurs idées mûrissent en projet puis se concrétisent en prototypes. En octobre 2015, tous deux libérés de leurs obligations professionnelles, ils créent enfin leur startup : Art Digital et Numérique.